Skip to main content

Action Group on Infrastructure

Chair: M Ojeda
Members: D Cox, P Głowacki, D Mateev, A Quesada, H Savela, J Sorribas, G Vieira, V Vitale

This group was initially formed to finalise the European Polar Infrastructure Catalogue and Database. Following the Autumn 2018 Plenary Meeting, the Action Group was renewed with a mandate to focus on improving access to polar infrastructure for the European research community.

Aims and Objectives

  • European Polar Infrastructure Database 
    • Increased functionality and add additional information and features, including automation of updates
    • Improved synchronisation with other databases
    • Sharing of scientific metadata
  • Accessibility to polar research infrastructure
    • Increasing accessibility – gathering data on requirements for access to polar research infrastructure
    • Identify opportunities to harmonise requirements between EPB Members
  • Scoping study on mobile and interchangeable infrastructure in the polar regions
    • Currently existing examples of such infrastructure with EPB Members, potential benefits of such facilities to complement existing infrastructure 
    • Feasibility of developing a network of such infrastructure

Polardex, a new online platform for polar infrastructure, logistics discovery and planning, developed by the AG on Infrastructure and partners, has launched in April 2022. Read more here.

Workshop report: 'Towards harmonisation of polar infrastructure access' 1st August 2019


The EPB, incollaboration with partners ARICE, EU-PolarNet, FARO, GEO-CRI and INTERACT, held the workshop 'Towards harmonisation of polar infrastructure access' in Plovdiv, Bulgaria on the 1st August. A report and copies of presentation slides are available below.

Short workshop summary, including recommendations

Workshop report

European Polar Board - K Latola

Bulgarian Antarctic Institute - D Mateev

Portuguese Polar Programme - T Cabrita

Italian Polar Programme - V Vitale

Research Vessels - M Ojeda

INTERACT Transnational Access - H Savela

COMNAP Efficiency Task Force: Peninsula - A Quesada

ARICE - N Biebow

EUFAR - P Brown