Skip to main content


The following Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) have been signed by the European Polar Board: 


During the Polar Symposium, held on 22-23rd February 2024 in Monaco, the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation (FPA2) forged a strategic partnership with the European Polar Board, a co-host of the event. This collaboration aims to amplify awareness of polar challenges and jointly orchestrate events, particularly within the framework of the United Nations Decade of Ocean Sciences, and other long term initiatives in the Polar regions. More information. (Signed in Monaco on 22nd February 2024)


The purpose of this MoU is to foster cooperation between the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC), the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), and the EPB and to define the corresponding terms and conditions for a joint effort in developing international programmes and initiatives based on scientific priorities, scientific excellence and use of European Antarctic and Arctic infrastructures. (Renewed 24th March 2021)


The purpose of this agreement is to foster cooperation between the European Space Agency (ESA) and the EPB and to define the corresponding terms and conditions for the use of European Antarctic stations for scientific and technological purposes, including planetary simulation studies, medical and psychological relevant issues and life support. (Signed in Paris on 3rd February 2016)


With this MoU, the EPB and the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS) recognise common goals of engaging and supporting polar science through scientific activities, promotion of polar facilities, and education, outreach and communication. The EPB and APECS recognise the importance of fostering the next generation of researchers that will be faced with increasingly critical challenges due to the impacts of climate change on the polar regions and their global significance. (Signed in Prague on 31st March 2017)

Arctic  ECRA MoU:

The EPB has endorsed the ‘Arctic Climate Stability and Change’ (Arctic ECRA) collaborative programme under the umbrella of the European Climate Research Alliance (ECRA). The programme strengthens the scientific and technological capabilities for Arctic climate research within Europe and addresses collaboration in scientific work, sharing of infrastructure and exchange of scientists and technicians. (Signed in Paris on 8th November 2012)  


This MoU recognises the EPB's and the International Network for Terrestrial Research and Monitoring in the Arctic's (INTERACT) mutual interest to work together to produce a European Polar Station Catalogue, including Arctic stations not covered by INTERACT at the the time of signing (Svalbard, upper atmosphere stations on the main land) and Antarctic stations managed by EPB Members. General objectives and agreed procedures are also provided. (Signed 2nd December 2014)

European Polar Framework MoU:

This MoU establishes detailed aspects of general cooperation between national polar programme authorities, national funding agencies and national polar operators in a coordinated usage of European polar infrastructure for polar research. This flexible and open agreement encourages variable geometry cooperation in areas of strategy, programmes, infrastructures, and the general coordination and convergence of activities. (Signed in Brussels on 9 June 2009) 

EPB Constitution MoU:

Ahead of the closure of the European Science Foundation, which hosted the European Polar Board until 2014, EPB Members signed this MoU based on the EPB Constitution. The MoU enabled the continuation of the EPB’s activities in a structured manner starting on 1 January 2015 with a new host organisation - the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO). (Signed by EPB Members during 2014)