Skip to main content

Chair & Executive Committee

The EPB Executive Committee (EXCOM) members are elected by Plenary and are given the mandate of following key dossiers which they have identified, and organise the work together with the other EPB Representatives and Alternate Representatives, under the guidance of the Chair. The Executive Secretary and the Secretariat provide support to achieve the goals within each dossier. Plans on deliverables and status of completion are presented by the responsible EXCOM member at Plenary Meetings for advice and approval.

Key dossiers are connected with the Mission of the EPB and include:

  • Support of scientific areas
  • International collaboration
  • Cooperation on infrastructures
  • Information flow and outreach.

Dr. Nicole Biebow
 : EPB Chair
Biography :

EPB Member Representative for the Helmholtz Association (HGF), Germany

Head of the International Cooperation Unit at the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)

Coordinator of EU-PolarNet 2

Coordinator of ARICE (Arctic Research Icebreaker Consortium)

Mr. Egill Thor Níelsson
Function : EPB EXCOM Member
Biography :

EPB representative for Rannís, Iceland 

Senior Advisor at Rannís 

Representative for IASC Council and the Arctic Science Funders Forum 

Board Member of the Icelandic Arctic Cooperation Network

Previously, Executive Secretary at the China Nordic Arctic Research Center and a visiting scholar at the Polar Research Institute of China 

Dr. Marie-Noelle Houssais
: EPB EXCOM Member
Biography :

EPB Member Representative for the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), France

Senior scientist at the Laboratory of Ocean and Climate (LOCEAN, CNRS-Sorbonne University Joint Unit)

French representative at the Sustaining Arctic Observing Networks board

Scientific Delegate for Polar Affairs at the Institute of Earth Sciences (CNRS-INSU)

Member of the CNRS Polar Committee 

Dr. Vito Vitale
: EPB EXCOM Member
Biography :

EPB Member Representative for the National Research Council (CNR), Italy

Italian Representative in the WMO Expert Group on Polar and High Mountain Regions (EC-PHORS)

Italian Representative in the Sustaining Arctic Observing Network (SAON) Steering Board

Member of the Board of Directors (BoD) of SIOS

Member of the CNR Polar Committee (Deputy Chair 2011-2018).

Prof. Peter Sköld
Function : EPB EXCOM Member
Biography :

EPB Member Representative for the Arctic Research Centre (ARCUM) at Umeå University, Sweden

Professor of history at Umeå University Sweden

Director at the Centre for Arctic Research (ARCUM) at Umeå University, Sweden

Director of the Arctic Five consortium

Chair of the Board of the University of the Arctic (UArctic)

Swedish delegate of Arctic Council Culture, Economy and Geography Expert Group (SECEG)

Deputy Director of the Chinese-Nordic Arctic Research Centre (CNARC)

IASSA Council member

Member and past-chair of the Social and Human Working Group (SHWG) of IASC

Honorary Consul of Västerbotten to Latvia