Skip to main content

Jubilees of the Polish Polar Stations

Photo: P. Łepkowski

Photo: E. Łepkowska

The major event in celebration of jubilees of establishing of the Polish polar stations was the International Conference “Interdisciplinary Polar Studies in Poland”. It was held in Warsaw on 17-19 November 2017, to honor the 60th Anniversary of the Polish Polar Station in Hornsund, Svalbard, Arctic and the 40th Anniversary of the Arctowski Polish Antarctic Station, South Shetland Islands. The Conference attracted 154 participants including 15 speakers from abroad. The Book of Abstract is available here:

The Polish Polar Station Hornsund (77°00’N, 15°33’E) was built in South Spitsbergen, Svalbard in the region often called “Gate to the Arctic“ for research activity during the 3rd International Geophysical Year (1957-1958). It was used later sporadically during summer seasons.  After profound renovation the station operates all year round since 1978. Their location is very favorable for multidisciplinary research and monitoring of geophysical fields and polar environment. Nearby glaciers are studied by manifold methods and comprise an international research site for better understanding of their state and interactions with climate. The Station has been named after Professor Stanislaw Siedlecki who was involved in the Polish Arctic expeditions since 1932 and was leader of the first wintering team. This modern scientific platform composed of a few buildings and other infrastructure being managed by the Institute of Geophysics Polish Academy of Sciences (

On 26th February 1977, the Henryk Arctowski Polish Antarctic Station officially began its activity on and has been functioning on a year-round basis unceasingly until now. The station has been named after Professor Henryk Arctowski – member of the scientific team of the famous r/v Belgica expedition (1897-1899). The station is located on King George Island within group of South Shetland Islands (62°09’37”S, 58°28’24”W). Infrastructure of the station includes also refuges and field camp. Scientific inquiries being conducted at the station include: ecology, microbiology, oceanography, geology, geomorphology, glaciology, hydrology, meteorology and seismology. The station is operated by the Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics of the Polish Academy of Sciences (