Skip to main content

EPB panel session at ASSW2019: Towards greater collaboration in polar research

The European Polar Board (EPB) will convene a panel discussion session at the upcoming Arctic Science Summit Week (ASSW) in Arkhangelsk, Russia. The session, titled 'Towards greater collaboration in polar research' will be held  9:00-10:30, Sunday 26th May 2019 at the Northern (Arctic) Federal University and is open to all conference participants.

European research in the Arctic and Antarctic is notable for its excellence, diversity and societal relevance, achieved through extensive collaboration between disciplines, institutes and countries. Noting this, the EPB and its Members endeavour to develop collaborative initiatives within Europe and around the world, for the benefit of polar research.

This panel discussion session will showcase successful collaborative initiatives and explore positive solutions for greater collaboration beyond Europe.

The session will feature short presentations from four high-level panellists:

  1. Introduction to the EPB (Renuka Badhe)
  2. Polar research collaboration within Europe (Nicole Biebow)
  3. EPB Members collaborating beyond Europe (Antonio Quesada)
  4. An existing structure for a way forward in international collaboration (Gonçalo Vieira)

Chair – Henry Burgess, NERC Arctic Office / Chair, EPB Action Group on International Coordination

The presentations will be followed by questions from the audience, moderated by the Chair, allowing active researchers to put their questions and thoughts to the high-level panel. This discussion part of the session will focus on barriers to collaboration at different scales, examples of successful collaborations (why they worked), and ideas for how collaborative polar research can be improved.

A short report of the session will be prepared and published on the EPB website.


  • Nicole Biebow, Alfred Wegener Institute
  • Antonio Quesada, Spanish Polar Committee
  • Gonçalo Vieira, FCT - Portugal and IGOT - University of Lisbon
  • Renuka Badhe, European Polar Board

Chair – Henry Burgess, NERC Arctic Office