Skip to main content

Newly elected EPB EXCOM member: Miguel Angel Ojeda

During the Spring Plenary Meeting in Sofia & online (19th - 20th April 2023), Miguel "Miki" Angel Ojeda, Member Alternate Representative for the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), was elected to the EPB’s Executive Committee (EXCOM). At the same time, Marie-Noelle Houssais, Member Representative for the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), continues onto a second term on the EPB EXCOM.

Miki Ojeda has worked at the UTM-CSIC since 1999 and is currently one of the deputy directors, in charge of the operational planning and logistics of the CSIC fleet vessels. He is involved and representing CSIC in national and international forums of research vessels management as ERVO, IRSO, OFEG, etc.. Since 2005 he is a logistic manager of the Spanish Antarctic Program and in charge of the planning and logistic support to the science programme. He has a large commitment with the Antarctic research and support community and has been part of the Spanish delegation to ATCM specially related with “Science, operations and tourism” working group. He has also some responsibilities in COMNAP where he has been leader of the “Marine Platform Expert Group” since 2015. Since 2018 is an alternate delegate from CSIC to EPB and from 2019 Chair of the Action Group on Infrastructure.

Vito Vitale, Member Representative for Italian National Research Council (CNR), stepped down from the EXCOM during the Spring Plenary Meeting 2023, having completed two full terms as an EXCOM member. The EPB thanks Vito for dedicated service to the EPB during the past four years.

Miki Ojeda joins existing EXCOM members Nicole Biebow (EPB Chair, Helmholtz Association, Germany), Marie-Noelle Houssais (CNRS, France), Egill Thor Níelsson (Rannís, Iceland) and Peter Sköld (ARCUM, Sweden).