Home > Organisation > Chair & Executive Committee

Chair & Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (ExCom) members are elected by the plenary members and are given the mandate of following key dossiers which they have identified, and organise the work together with the other EPB members, under the guidance of the Chair. The Executive Secretary and the secretariat provide support to achieve the goals within each dossier. A plan on deliverables and status of completion are presented annually by the responsible ExCom member to the plenary meeting for advice and approval.

Key dossiers are connected with the mission of the EPB and include:

  • Support of scientific areas
  • International collaboration
  • Cooperation on infrastructures
  • Information flow and outreach.

Ms Maaike Vancauwenberghe

Function : EPB Chair
Email : Maaike.VANCAUWENBERGHE[at]belspo[.]be
Biography : Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO)
Belgian Delegate to the EPB

Professor Jane Francis

Function : EPB ExCom Member
Email : janefr[at]bas.ac[.]uk
Biography : Director of the British Antarctic Survey (BAS)
British Delegate to the EPB

Dr. Björn Dahlbäck

Function : EPB ExCom Member
Email : bjorn.dahlback[at]polar[.]se
Biography : Director of Swedish Polar Research Secretariat (SPRS)
Swedish Delegate to the EPB

Dr. Yves Frenot

Function : EPB ExCom Member
Email : yves.frenot[at]ipev[.]fr
Biography : Director of the French Polar Institue Paul-Emile Victor (IPEV)
French Delegate to the EPB

Mr. Dick van der Kroef

Function : EPB ExCom Member
Email : d.vanderkroef[at]nwo[.]nl
Biography : Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
Dutch Delegate to the EPB